Goodness, gracious, great balls of…falafel!

October 7, 2009 at 2:18 pm 7 comments

You heard right. Falafel. Delicious, deep fried, middle eastern comfort food at it’s (oopsies!) its best. You could call them little balls of joy if you’d like – I might start to after my dinner experience last night.

Around 10 p.m., my favorite vegetarian friend Tiffy and her lovely boyfriend Jeff popped by my apartment to join Johnny and I on a brief trip into Philly to obtain some little balls of joy (heh, you know it has a nice ring to it).  Our destination?  Maoz Vegetarian. A lovely little vegetarian restaurant with several international locations that specialize in – you guessed it – falafel!

For less than $10 a person you get a fluffy, homemade (white or whole wheat) pita filled with crispy falafel balls, hummus, and eggplant, your choice of belgian or sweet potato fries(which cost a little more but are always well worth it in my book) and a drink of your choice. My favorite part, I must say, was the toppings bar. It offered a dozen or so toppings, including: tahini, cilantro sauce, olives, beets, Israeli salad, and tabbouleh among several other tasty options.

I would definitely return to Maoz,
and I would return hungry!

falafel2 Here we have my  delicious, half eaten  sandwich. I chose to stuff  my pita with briny, green  olives, cilantro sauce,  and Israeli  salad (cucumbers,  tomatoes, and red  onion).

falafel1And here we have Tiffy’s delicious sandwich. She chose to compliment her little balls of joy with Israeli salad, too, but also added some Tahini and fried cauliflower.

tiffandfalafel

Doesn’t she
look pleased?
*yum, falafel*

Entry filed under: Eating Out. Tags: , , , , , , , .

An evening in Italy – sorta Fun food for the frugal!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Your Mommy~  |  October 7, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    While I have never had a Falafel, you do make it sound very yummy! Glad you enjoyed your self..

    Reply
  • 2. Aunt Joi  |  October 7, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Although you sound like you REALLY ENJOYED it , I’ve tried falafel and It wasn’t my cup of tea . Keep on blogging !!!!

    Reply
  • 3. LisaSam  |  October 7, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Sounds yummy. Nice job. Check out http://mbhide.typepad.com/
    She is a food writer from a online writers group I belong to.
    Lisa

    Reply
  • 4. tiffy  |  October 8, 2009 at 10:36 am

    haha..im so excited i was part of your blog : ) i had fun that night and my pic is hilarious..xo

    Reply
  • 5. Danielle  |  October 9, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Aw jen I love this so far and Tiffy looks so cute in that pic. Maoz= yummy always.

    Reply
  • 6. Sue  |  October 20, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Oh, I grew on this stuff!!! So yummy! I am glad you liked it!

    ps. Great job on your site!

    Reply
  • 7. gallag98  |  October 26, 2009 at 1:38 am

    Falafels are SO good! I have to find out the place that my brother and I went to right off south street in Philly and let you know in class because they had a huge assortment and they were amazing. They had a lot of interesting foods from their culture as well. I really like how your page came out, it’s awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

