Chicken, Cauliflower, and Chickpea Curry

November 30, 2009 at 1:04 am 2 comments

All last week I was absolutely hell bent on making a recipe I found for Aloo Gobi – curried cauliflower and potatoes.

I’ve never had it before.

As a matter of fact, I’ve never had Indian curry before at all.

Lately, though, I’ve wanted nothing more than to prepare a great big pot of it. I blame this in part on that fact that I’ve been  looking at pictures of curries on foodgawker and they were all so pretty . I guess my brain just associates pretty with tasty. Who knows?

Regardless,the other night I finally had time to prepare dinner. Aloo Gobi? But but but… I also found a Chicken Curry recipe that sounded equally delicious and easy to prepare.

I hate making decisions.

Why doooooo I have to chooose?!?!

Oh wait! I don’t! Bwahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

As per usual, I am incapable of following a recipe and must, somehow, find a way to make a recipe (or two) my own. So that’s what I did. The result was a beautiful, creamy, spicy curry that I served with coconut cilantro rice.

Chicken, Cauliflower, and Chickpea Curry

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasted, cubed
  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 serrano chili, diced fine
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup plain nonfat yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  1. In a large pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion, garlic, ginger serrano. Cook until they begin to soften, about two minutes.
  2. Add the dried spices to the pot ,stirring rapidly, to form a thick paste.
  3. Add chicken and cauliflower. Stir and cook about two minutes more.
  4. Add tomato paste, coconut milk, chickpeas and yogurt. Stir well.
  5. Add lemon juice and bring mixture to a boil.
  6. Reduce heat to low, cover and let simmer 40 minutes, or until the cauliflower is soft and the chicken is cooked through.
  7. Serve with coconut cilantro rice!


*nom nom nom nom nom*

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

The History of the Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich Happy December!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. academya  |  November 30, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Best Indian food in South Jersey is at Coriander in Voorhees, you definitely should try it.

    Reply
  • 2. twentysomethingandstarving  |  November 30, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    You know, I’ve heard good things about that place. I’m not all too familiar with Voorhees, though, so I’ve never been. Maybe one day soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

