The Simplest Enchiladas You Will Ever Make

January 21, 2010 at 10:18 pm 2 comments

My first week of my last semester
as an undergrad is officially over!

*happy dance*

Anywho, I’m taking six classes this semester and I’m still working at the bux about 30 hours a week. Always the busy bee I am, but not too busy for dinner I say!

I picked up a rotisserie chicken from the store this week, (well actually, Johnny picked it up for me because there were none at the store when I went shopping and I was sad so he came to my rescue the next day – hooray! ) shredded it up and popped it in the refrigerator to have on hand for an easy meal or two this week. At about six dollars for a whole chicken large enough to feed a family of four (or two people with big appetites) , it’s definitely a bargain.

I struck a new level of brilliance with tonight’s meal. I’m modest, I know. But honestly, these enchiladas were the best I’ve ever had outside of a mexican restaurant … and with only six ingredients, they could not have been easier to make.

The Simplest Enchiladas You Will Ever Make

  • 1 cup cooked chicken, shredded
  • 1 package reduced sodium taco seasoning (and however much water it calls for)
  • 1 8-oz can diced green chilies
  • 1/2 jar of salsa
    ( I used Pace Hot Picante Sauce and it was just the right amount of spicy)
  • 1 block of pepper jack cheese, shredded and divided
  • 12 corn tortillas
  1. Preheat the oven to 400°.
  2. In a large skillet, combine the chicken, green chilies, taco seasoning and water. Heat over medium high until hot and the sauce is thick. Remove from heat.
  3. Heat tortillas in the microwave 4 at a time for about 20 seconds or until pliable. Add about a tablespoon of the chicken mixture and a teaspoon of cheese to each tortilla, being careful not to overstuff them. Roll tightly and place, seam side down, in a 9×13 inch baking dish. Repeat until all 12 are complete.
  4. Cover evenly with salsa, spreading it out with a spatula all the way to the edges. Sprinkle with the remaining cheese and place into the hot oven for 10 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and bubbly.

The Result

Spicy


Cheesy

Perfection!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes.

Whole Wheat Gingerbread Walnut Muffins with Cinnamon Orange Glaze Sunday Brunch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caitlin  |  February 3, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    just want to say that i’m totally making these tonight and i can’t wait!

    Reply
  • 2. twentysomethingandstarving  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    oh awesome! let me know how they come out for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

