Spinach & Artichoke Dip

February 8, 2010 at 1:40 pm 2 comments

This morning my tummy is still recovering from yesterday’s Super Bowl celebration. Johnny and I didn’t do anything toooooo crazy, we just had our close friend and his lovely lady over for some snacks and good times.When our friends showed up an hour earlier than I expected I hurried my little self up to get snacks on the table as fast as possible.

In all my haste, I neglected to snap a single picture of the Creole Crab Dip I made (which was totally why the Saints won by the way 🙂 ) or the Spicy Boneless Buffalo Wings, or the Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Blondies. I couldn’t not share a recipe with you guys, though, so although this dip was not in last night’s repertoire, it IS in my repertoire of recipes and is absolutely divine.

Spinach and Artichoke dip is one of my favorite favorite snacks to get when I’m out to eat. It’s creamy and cheesy and the perfect companion to anything crunchy and dipable. When I finally decided I wanted to try and make it for myself at home I started searching through dozens of recipes. In all of my searching, I noticed that one of the main ingredients in just about every recipe I found was mayonnaise.

I. HATE. MAYONNAISE.

Don’t ask me why. I couldn’t really tell you. Aside from the fact that it’s absolutely awful for you, averaging at around 100 calories per tablespoon and having little to no redeemable nutritional value, something about the way it jiggles and stares at me and – ugh – it just really grosses me out. So I decided, forget you mayo and forget you recipes, I’m coming up with my own.

The recipe I’m sharing with you is all my own. I replaced the *shudder* mayo with nonfat yogurt to lend a creamy texture without all the fat and repulsiveness and I added some white wine to thin out the mixture while adding a lovely, more sophisticated zip to the dip. The red bell pepper was another touch of mine because I love the sweet crunch it adds to the finished dip and because it’s my recipe and what I say goes. Heh. 🙂

Spinach and Artichoke Dip

  • 1 package frozen, chopped spinach, defrosted and drained of all liquid
  • One 8-ounce package reduced fat cream cheese, softened
  • One 6-ounce container nonfat yogurt
  • One 8-ounce jar marinated artichoke hears, drained and chopped
  • ¼ cup dry white wine
  • ½ of a small, red bell pepper, diced
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning or oregano
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • ¼ cup parmesan cheese
  • ¼ cup mozzarella cheese
  1. Preheat the oven to 400°.
  2. In a large sauté pan, add the spinach, cream cheese, yogurt, and artichokes. Over high heat, stir until the ingredients become a smooth mixture.
  3. Add the wine and allow to cook for about 5 minutes, until the mixture thickens.
  4. Add the bell pepper, garlic, Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes and parmesan. Mix to combine.
  5. Pour the mixture into a 9 inch pie plate or baking dish. Top with mozzarella and more seasonings if desired.
  6. Bake at 400° until hot and bubbly and the cheese is melted.
  7. Serve with carrots, celery, and homemade pita chips!
Entry filed under: Lunch. Tags: , , , , , .

Penne with Sausage, White Beans and Spinach Snow Day!!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. El Capitan  |  February 9, 2010 at 12:38 am

    Oh God artichoke dip!!! I love this stuff. Unfortunately, most that I’ve tried come out too salty. Is this recipe salty?

    Reply
  • 2. twentysomethingandstarving  |  February 9, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Ya know, I’m pretty sure when I made this I didn’t use any salt at all. Typically I’ll use a little salt & pepper in everything, but the marinated artichokes add lots of flavor on their own, and the parmesan cheese adds a bit of salt too. I don’t recall thinking this was too salty at all. In fact, what I recall most about this dip is that it was all gone after about 15 minutes spilt between me and my two roommates. If you decide to make it, let me know how it comes out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

